BasisRoute my position

AQR

Tax-aware long/short (Flex SMAs and TA private funds)

OpenAdvisor-only. Fidelity paused new long/short SMA accounts and new funding in Dec 2025 (indefinite). Schwab, 2026-04-23: long/short SMAs capped at 30% of an RIA's Schwab assets and new enrollments capped at 200/100. Schwab, 2026-09-16: $10M minimum for new long/short SMAs.

Assets
$68.8B
Fee a year
Not disclosed
Minimum
Not disclosed
Tracking error
≈2–6%
Investors
Not disclosed
Open to
Not disclosed
Leverage
Not published (AQR research models 150/50 to 250/150)
Lock-up
None (SMA)
Holdings
Not disclosed
Benchmark
Client-selected
Custodians
Schwab, Fidelity
Access
Through an advisor
Launched
2023
Assets, in detail
As of 2026-03. AQR: $68.8B of client assets in long/short tax-aware private commingled vehicles and SMAs (2026-03-31), from the AQR Tax-Aware Investing page (Wayback capture 2026-04-13). AQR says that this is invested capital, not gross Form ADV RAUM. Total Flex AUM was about $55B on the same date (flex.aqr.com), and Cerulli lists AQR at more than $55B in retail long/short SMAs (Q1 2026). Not included: $27B in tax-aware mutual funds (long-short and long-only) and long-only SMAs. By 2026-07, AQR removed the AUM figures from both pages.
Fee schedule
Not published. Advisor fee is extra.
Other costs
Margin financing and short-borrow costs are extra.
Tracking error, method
From the 1% to 6% tracking-error levels in AQR's 2023 research (Beyond Direct Indexing) for 150/50 to 250/150. AQR does not publish a target for the Flex product.
Capacity and queue
Minimum not published. Frec's comparison lists $1M-$3M. A third-party advisor describes it as for qualified purchasers. Custodian limits apply (see status note).
Loss harvesting
AQR simulations (Liberman et al. 2023): average cumulative net capital loss reaches 100% of capital in about 7 years at 150/50 (2% TE), under 3 years at 200/100 (4% TE), and under 2 years at 250/150 (6% TE). Direct indexing at 1% TE levels off near 30%. Research results, not product results.

Where to get it

The same product costs a different amount through each door. The all-in fee adds the access provider's own fee to the product fee. Placement fees, financing, and fund expenses are extra.

ThroughTheir feeAll-in feeMinimumOnboarding and queueStatus
Charles Schwab (RIA custody)CustodianNot disclosedNot disclosed$10MNot disclosedRestricted
Fidelity (RIA custody)CustodianNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNo reopening date. Fidelity says it will support transfers to other providers.Paused

Other tax-aware long/short