Eaton Vance (Morgan Stanley)
Private exchange funds (Bel* and Clear*)
OpenBelnova (2024 vintage) reported continued sales in its 2026-03 Form D amendment. Sold through Morgan Stanley and other wealth platforms.
- Assets
- ≈$73.2B
- Fee a year
- Not disclosed
- Minimum
- $1M
- Tracking error
- ≈2.4–2.8%
- Investors
- 14,290
- Open to
- Qualified purchasers
- Lock-up
- 7 years for the full tax deferral
- New money gets in
- Periodic closings within each multi-year vintage
- Illiquid sleeve
- Real estate (structure for current vintages not public)
- Holdings
- 106
- Benchmark
- S&P 500 / S&P 1500
- Custodians
- Not disclosed
- Access
- Through an advisor
- Launched
- Not disclosed
- Assets, in detail
- As of 2026-03. Sum of Form ADV gross asset values for 20 Eaton Vance exchange funds (14 Bel* funds, 4 Clear* funds, 2 Diversified Exchange Funds), $71.92B. The sum also includes the Form D amount sold for the new Belmere Capital Fund ($1.26B, 482 investors, first sale 2026-06-25), which is not yet in the ADV. Source: Form ADV annual amendment of Boston Management and Research (an Eaton Vance adviser), filed 2026-03-29. Gross asset value can include borrowing and the real estate sleeve, so it is above net asset value. The masters Belvedere Capital Fund Company ($268.4M) and Tax-Managed Multi-Cap Portfolio ($0.2M) are not added, to avoid double counting. The earlier figure ($9.81B) was the Form D amount sold for four funds only.
- Fee schedule
- Not published. Form D sales commissions: Belhurst $17.4M on $5.65B sold (about 0.31%), Belnova $14.7M on $3.96B (about 0.37%).
- Other costs
- Cache's generic comparison (not specific to Eaton Vance): 1.5%-2.0% placement fee, 0.54%-0.70% management fee, 0.25% servicing fee.
- Tracking error, method
- Equity sleeve only. Derived from R-squared 97.5 vs SPY of the public feeder EXTGX, which invests in the same master portfolio (36 monthly returns): residual TE = sigma_p*sqrt(1-R^2), sigma_p = 15%-18%. Fund-level tracking is looser because of the real estate sleeve and borrowing. The master portfolio held 106 stocks (top 10 = 48%).
- Capacity and queue
- Recent vintages average about $2.6M-$2.9M per investor (Form D amount sold / investors).
Assets over time
Funds 23
| Fund | Year | Amount | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Belair Capital Fund LLC | Not disclosed | $480M2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 63 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. First EDGAR filing (Form 10) 1999. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Belcrest Capital Fund LLC | Not disclosed | $1.48B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 173 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. First EDGAR filing (Form 10) 2000. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Belmar Capital Fund LLC | Not disclosed | $841M2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 96 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. First EDGAR filing (Form 10) 2001. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Belport Capital Fund LLC | Not disclosed | $1.21B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 129 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. First EDGAR filing (Form 10) 2002. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Belrose Capital Fund LLC | 2002 | $1.36B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 129 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. Year of first Reg D notice. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Belshire Capital Fund LLC | 2003 | $932M2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 114 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. Year of first Reg D notice. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Belterra Capital Fund LLC | 2004 | $970M2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 143 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. Year of first Reg D notice. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Belwater Capital Fund LLC | 2005 | $1.71B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 158 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. Year of first Reg D notice. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Belvedere Equity Fund LLC | Not disclosed | $360M2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 56 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. Feeder into Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC. |
| Clearwood Capital Fund LLC | 2005 | $541M2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 147 beneficial owners; minimum $500,000. Year of first Reg D notice. Feeder into Tax-Managed Multi-Cap Portfolio LLC. |
| Belbrook Capital Fund LLC | 2006 | $1.15B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 176 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. Year of first Reg D notice. |
| Beldore Capital Fund LLC | 2007 | $15.5B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 1,574 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. First sale 2007-08-21 (Form D). |
| Clearfork Capital Fund LLC | 2007 | $7.08B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 1,648 beneficial owners; minimum $500,000. First sale 2007-06-21. Last Form D (2020-03): $2.18B sold to 2,542 investors. |
| Belgard Capital Fund LLC | 2018 | $14.3B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 1,847 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. Organized 2018 (Form D 2018-09). Last Form D/A (2021-10): $7.00B sold to 1,905 investors. |
| Clearisle Capital Fund LLC | 2019 | $5.30B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 1,939 beneficial owners; minimum $500,000. First sale 2019-12-05. Last Form D/A (2023-04): $2.43B sold to 1,607 investors. |
| Belhurst Capital Fund LLC | 2021 | $9.76B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 1,899 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. CIK 1886309. Form D (2026-04): $5.65B sold to 1,921 investors. |
| Diversified Exchange Fund All-Cap, LLC | 2022 | $131M2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 45 beneficial owners; minimum $500,000. CIK 1949939. Form D (2026-03): $144.7M sold to 48 investors. |
| Diversified Exchange Fund Large-Cap, LLC | 2023 | $7.75M2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 2 beneficial owners; minimum $500,000. CIK 1970767. Form D (2026-03): $54.5M sold to 23 investors. |
| Clearlane Capital Fund LLC | 2024 | $3.51B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 1,925 beneficial owners; minimum $500,000. First sale 2024-02-15. Form D/A (2025-03): $1.26B sold to 1,038 investors. Not on the 2023 Eaton Vance exchange fund list (it launched later). It has a sister Clearlane Realty Corp, as the other exchange funds do. |
| Belnova Capital Fund LLC | 2024 | $5.33B2026-03 | Form ADV gross asset value (BMR, 2026-03-29); 1,545 beneficial owners; minimum $1,000,000. CIK 2030239. Form D (2026-03): $3.96B sold to 1,534 investors. |
| Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC | Not disclosed | $268M2026-03 | Master fund for nine Bel* feeders. Form ADV gross asset value; 27 beneficial owners. Not added to the total, to avoid double counting with the feeders. The ADV data shown by privatefunddata before 2025-03 gave $33.42B for this master. |
| Tax-Managed Multi-Cap Portfolio LLC | Not disclosed | $172K2026-03 | Master fund for Clearwood. Not added to the total. |
| Belmere Capital Fund LLC | 2026 | $1.26B2026-06 | Form D amount sold, 482 investors (filed 2026-06-30); first sale 2026-06-25; minimum $1,000,000. Placement agents include J.P. Morgan Securities, LPL Financial, Morgan Stanley, and Oppenheimer. Not yet in the Form ADV. |
Sources
Checked 2026-10. Confidence: high. Basis estimated the assets, investors, tracking error from public data.
- SEC Form ADV, Boston Management and Research (CRD 104853), annual amendment 2026-03-29, Schedule D 7.B.(1)
- Eaton Vance master account list, 2023-08-18, 'EXCHANGE FUND CAPITAL' entries (exhibit to Form N-2/A)
- Eaton Vance fund list, rev. 2013-04-30, 'EXCHANGE FUNDS' section (exhibit to Form N-2/A)
- Private Fund Data: Beldore Capital Fund LLC (Form ADV history)
- Private Fund Data: Belvedere Capital Fund Company LLC (Form ADV history)
- SEC Form D/A, Belhurst Capital Fund LLC (CIK 1886309)
- SEC Form D/A, Belnova Capital Fund LLC (CIK 2030239)
- SEC Form D/A, Diversified Exchange Fund All-Cap, LLC (CIK 1949939)
- SEC Form D/A, Diversified Exchange Fund Large-Cap, LLC (CIK 1970767)
- SEC Form D/A, Belvedere Capital Fund Co LLC (CIK 1035602), 2026-04-24
- Yahoo Finance: EXTGX price history (public feeder used for the R-squared)
- Cache: list of exchange fund providers
- SEC Form D, Belmere Capital Fund LLC (CIK 2113715), 2026-06-30
Where to get it
The same product costs a different amount through each door. The all-in fee adds the access provider's own fee to the product fee. Placement fees, financing, and fund expenses are extra.
| Through | Their fee | All-in fee | Minimum | Onboarding and queue | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Morgan Stanley Wealth ManagementWirehouse | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $1M | Eaton Vance does not publish closing dates. | Unknown |