Parametric (Morgan Stanley)
Custom Core
Open
- Assets
- $254B
- Fee a year
- 0.35%–0.40%
- Minimum
- $250K
- Tracking error
- Not disclosed
- Accounts
- 126,000
- Open to
- Anyone
- Lock-up
- None
- Holdings
- Not disclosed
- Benchmark
- Not disclosed
- Custodians
- Not disclosed
- Access
- Through an advisor, on advisor platforms
- Launched
- Not disclosed
- Assets, in detail
- As of 2024-12. Cerulli gives Morgan Stanley $253.5B in direct indexing assets at year-end 2024, the largest of any provider (InvestmentNews, 2025-04-10). Parametric runs this business for Morgan Stanley. Morgan Stanley's 2025 annual report says Parametric is No. 1 in retail direct indexing (Cerulli, 4Q 2025). The Custom Core factsheet gives $476B+ in custom SMAs, equity and fixed income, and 126,000+ Custom Core portfolios (2025-12-31).
- Fee schedule
- Standard schedule in Parametric's Form ADV Part 2A (2026-04-21): 0.35% for Custom Core Equity (Domestic) and 0.40% for Custom Core Equity (Non-U.S.). Fees are negotiable. In a wrap program, the sponsor sets the total fee.
- Tracking error, method
- Not disclosed.
- Capacity and queue
- Parametric's Form ADV Part 2A (2026-04-21) gives a $250,000 standard minimum for Custom Core Equity, negotiable. Press reports say some wrap and UMA programs accept $100,000.
Parametric (Morgan Stanley), all products
- 2024-12$384BParametric custom SMAs, equity and fixed income, $384B+ (provider-level)
- 2025-06$418BParametric custom SMAs, equity and fixed income, $418B+ (provider-level)
- 2025-12$476BParametric custom SMAs, equity and fixed income, $476B+ (provider-level)
Sources
Checked 2026-10. Confidence: medium.
- InvestmentNews: after ending 2024 with $865B, direct indexing has more room to grow (Cerulli data, 2025-04-10)
- Parametric Custom Core factsheet, data as of 2025-12-31 (Wayback capture 2026-02-22; the live PDF returns HTTP 403)
- Parametric Custom Core factsheet, data as of 2025-06-30 (Wayback capture)
- Parametric Custom Core factsheet, data as of 2024-12-31 (Wayback capture)
- Morgan Stanley 2025 annual report: No. 1 in retail direct indexing (Cerulli 4Q 2025)
- Parametric Form ADV Part 2A (2026-04-21): fees, minimums, $684.7B total AUM
- AOL: wealth strategies becoming more accessible (Parametric minimum)
- Investment Executive: Parametric minimum $250,000 (older)
Where to get it
The same product costs a different amount through each door. The all-in fee adds the access provider's own fee to the product fee. Placement fees, financing, and fund expenses are extra.
| Through | Their fee | All-in fee | Minimum | Onboarding and queue | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Morgan Stanley Wealth ManagementWirehouse | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $250K | Eaton Vance does not publish closing dates. | Unknown |
Other direct indexing
- Goldman Sachs Asset Management Direct Indexing (Tax-Advantaged Core)$260B
- Aperio (BlackRock) Tax-Managed Equity SMA$175B
- Northern Trust Asset Management Direct Indexing (Tax-Advantaged Equity)$149B
- Franklin Templeton (Canvas) Canvas Custom Indexing$30.3B
- Vanguard Vanguard Personalized Indexing$11.4B
- Ethic Values-Based Direct Indexing$10.1B
- Natixis (Active Index Advisors) AIA Direct Indexing SMAs$8B
- Wealthfront S&P 500 Direct0.09%
- Frec Direct Indexing (Classic)0.09%–0.35%
- Schwab Schwab Personalized Indexing0.35%–0.40%
- Fidelity Managed FidFolios0.40%
- Public.com Direct Indexing0.19%
- J.P. Morgan (55ip) Tax-Smart Direct Indexing0.10%–0.23%